Prie-dieu

Sometimes we are pulled, and other times pushed to express our creativity.

When the vestry of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Franklin Tennessee requested me to make a pre-dieu for one of its members, there could be no hesitation on my part.

The sanctuary at St.Paul’s was the source of my inspiration and the design is reflective of its Gothic architecture.

The abbreviated definition of prie-dieu is as follows: a prie-dieu is a prayer desk used for devotional use.  Typically found in small private places, but they are also present in churches.  Often made of wood with a sloping shelf for books or armrest and a kneeler.

Special thanks to Julie Fisher for her needlepoint work.

This entry was posted in Portfolio. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prie-dieu

  1. Wow–that’s gorgeous! I’m sure the church was delighted.

  2. Kasper says:

    Wow – what a nice kneeler! Is it possible that you could contact me by mail? I have some questions regarding how to make one and was wondering if you would be interested in helping me out? (I’m new to woodwork).

    Kind regards,
    Kasper

    • Kasper says:

      I’m not sure if you saw my message or not, but if you did I would be greatful for an answer, also if it is no 🙂 I think my mail can be viewed by you if you are the admin.

      /Kasper

      • Kasper says:

        Dear Reinhardt,
        Thank you for your reply – I did not intend to rush you! 🙂
        I tried to send you this by main (including attached pictures), but for some reason it does not deliver to you. If you want, you can just leave this comment unpublished and reply by the mail you wrote to.

        I was searching for a Prie-deu when I stumbled over your blog and saw the master-piece you created for the church member. I have been hoping to learn how to create one myself, but I am not used to working with wood, so it will probably be a very long process as I will have to learn all the basics before I can create something that will barely look as good as the one you created.

        Now, the question is if you would be interested in learning me how to do one, or if it would be possible to order one from you? I have found some pictures of some items that were unfortunately already sold, but they might be a very good source of inspiration if one should make one (attached). If you would be interested in the job, the next challenge would be how to get it here. I guess that you live in the US and I in Denmark. Anyway – I have attached the pictures and will wait for your reply to see if you are up to any of it (and if not, I totally understand!)

        Thank you for your time.
        Kind regards,
        Kasper

  3. Hi there from Australia. I stumbled on your blog while searching for plans for a Prie Dieu. I have found nothing workable as yet. I am wondering if perchance you would have plans or at the very least the dimensions that I could use. For years I have been desiring to make one for my family and I and – now I have seen your blog – I have some hope.
    Many thanks,

    • Reinhardt says:

      Thank you for your comments. Regretfully, my computer crashed shortly after I finished the project and my drawings were lost. My suggestion would to get the correct dimensions is place some books on the floor and then have someone kneel on them. While they are in this position you should be able to take measurements to get the proportions correct.

Leave a comment